Afghan Attacks on Women


CNN has reported that for the second time in a week, a girls’ school has been intentionally poisoned. The story in itself is terrible. But thankfully, most of the girls were released within a few hours of going to a hospital with minor symptoms. I don’t think any are in life-threatening danger.

For the purposes of this post, the reason the article gave as to why this attack happened isn’t important in the slightest. We are all human beings, are we not? Even terrorists were once babies, and I imagine that some of them even had a decent life – as far as a decent life can go over there, since it is completely foreign to us, the hardships many people in the Middle East suffer just to survive each day.

Photo courtesy of rawa.org. Actual photo of a brutalized Afghan woman.survive each day.

For the purposes of this post, I want to remind you what one of my favorite evangelists, Joyce Meyer, says about female abuse. And that is, that is it an attack by Satan. If you’ve ever read The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis this won’t be such an impossible concept to understand. It’s not that man isn’t responsible for it – it’s that man (meaning mankind) is spurred by a wish for women and girls to be annihilated. Hey – it goes all the way back to Adam and Eve.

Since the first murder was created by Cain when he slew his brother Able, humans have been capable of violence. Being capable doesn’t mean we should use violence, however. Especially against women in countries where they are often considered worse than second-class citizens.

It isn’t just Afghanistan, though, and we all know it. And I’m sure there are millions upon millions of people, world-wide, who are sickened by the treatment of innocent women and girls. I can’t, for instance, pack up and head to Afghanistan and take on a terrorist organization (please Lord, don’t direct me to do that!)

But I can educate my children on the proper treatment of others, and so can you. And I can make sure that I be better self-controlled. So can you. And if I see a child or a woman being mistreated I can help. I can report it or step in, as I did once years ago. What we cannot do is imagine that these things happen to other people, in other neighborhoods, other schools, other cities, other towns, other countries. It happens next door.

I believe that when I know something bad is happening to someone else and I don’t step in and do my best to alleviate it, then I am guilty of ignoring a human being in need and that is a sin. It is a sin when you do it, too. You may be afraid, but you can never be as afraid as that woman or girl being tormented.

Leave a Reply

