Great Dinner & Fantastic Book


 

Photo courtesy of chow.com.

No single post I’ve written since starting this blog has gone over so well as Some of My Favorite Things so I’m attempting to let ya’ll in both a recipe I’ve tried and a great read I just started. You can get the original recipe from The Food Network (Rachel Ray) for Garlic Fish in Parchment by clicking on the link, but here’s how I make mine:

Serves 3

Pre-heat oven to 375.

Take out one sheet of parchment paper and put a light layer of squash or onions (or both), and cover with one filet of tilapia. Cover that with more onions and fresh garlic, chopped.Wrap it loosely and place on a baking sheet. Do this three times.

Bake for about half an hour and remove from oven; carefully open packet – if fish flakes easily with a fork, it’s done.

You can also add lemon, as you see in the photo above – a common ingredient when cooking fish – or whatever suits your fancy – experiment! Kids like more mild flavors but you can go crazy by adding some peppers!

Also, you don’t have to use tilapia; grouper has a mild flavor as well. I’m not a fan of fishy-fish but if you like a bolder pungency, give it a try!

Side note: one of my children ate this for the first time – his first time eating fish, by the way – and decided that I was going to cook it every night for dinner. LOL. Once a week is more like it. It is easy, though,and delicious. Experiment with the type of onion you use. I have found all sorts to be great!

Photo courtesy of life-love-laughter.tumblr.com.

Now, for a fantastic read…Ya’ll know, by my use of the word “Ya’ll,” that I’m a Southern gal. And PROUD of it! So, how apropos that I’m suggesting all you belles out there to read The GRITS Guide to Life if you haven’t already. This website is a great place to find the book, although I picked mine up at Sundog Books in Seaside, and I’m sure other retailers carry it or will order for you.

 

Leave a Reply

