Purpose


According to Dictionary.com, I found the following to be true:

pur·pose: [pur-puhs] Show IPA noun, verb, pur·posed, pur·pos·ing. noun

1.the reason for which something exists or is done, made, used, etc.

2.an intended or desired result; end; aim; goal.

3.determination; resoluteness.

4.the subject in hand; the point at issue.

5.practical result, effect, or advantage: to act to good purpose.

I like to think I have all the answers I need at this time. And, truthfully, that I may have an answer for you as well. But that is vanity on my part. As we mature we realize that what is the solution for ourselves may not work for someone else. Our purpose is not necessarily the same for another.

But as we mature, we also realize we have more than one purpose. And today I got to thinking about mine. Over the years I’ve considered what living my life with purpose means; how to do it – why to do it – the different reasons reasons my life doesn’t have a purpose and the differing purposes in my life at different times. So what is my purpose now?

Now, right now – to live in faith, be gentle, and learn. Those are my highest purposes at this moment. But wow, how much does that cover? Being a godly woman, wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. That can keep a person pretty busy. So maybe our purpose at any one given time is to be a godly person, first and foremost, and after that, to learn. Learn a lesson, learn a language, learn peace, learn love, learn kindness, learn forgiveness – gracious, the list could go on and on. What is it that you need to learn today?

 

Leave a Reply

