What is Godly Obedience?


Photo courtesy of fellowshiproom.org. Is obedience a problem for you?

Obedience. Wowza. I have always hated that word. Firstly, because I have never liked rules I was supposed to follow that I didn’t create, and secondly because I’m just so very, very bad at it.

But lately, godly obedience has been creeping into my mind more and more. I think I’ve been convicted of this for a very long time but I called it “following God’s will.” That’s high-falutin and all that, but what it really comes down to is obedience.

According to dictionary.com, the word means the following:

o·be·di·ence [oh-bee-dee-uhns]

noun

1. the state or quality of being obedient.
2. the act or practice of obeying; dutiful or submissive compliance: Military service demands obedience from its members.
3. a sphere of authority or jurisdiction, especially ecclesiastical.
4. Chiefly Ecclesiastical .

a. conformity to a monastic rule or the authority of a religious superior, especially on the part of one who has vowed such conformance.
b. the rule or authority that exacts such conformance.
Did anyone note the second definition, in which it states, “dutiful or submissive compliance?” Yep. That sounds about right to me.

Photo courtesy of cupofjoe.tv. Have you always followed the rules, and felt it was impossible to imagine rebelling against authority and God?

For me, obedience is such a fleshly struggle. My heart tells me to obey, or do God’s will, but my mind rebels against it with all these rationalizations. I fail Him every stinkin day. In Joyce Meyer’s book Never Give Up,
she wrote that when we have personal problems, that’s not an excuse for missing our commitments. To take that a step further, it’s also not an excuse for disobedience.
“When a seemingly impossible situation comes your way, don’t allow it to bury you. Turn it to your favor…Let the circumstances that could suffocate you be the very situations that strengthen you and raise you to a new level…Develop a “can-do” attitude..” – Never Give Up.
I’ve faced a LOT of impossible situations! And one way that I’ve failed the most through them IS allowing them to bury me. I did not have a “can-do” attitude – I had a whiny, selfish, witchy attitude. I still struggle with that!
Do you? Do you have a problem with obedience? Why?
Or do you always follow the rules and can’t imagine being rebellious? Tell me why!
One thought on “What is Godly Obedience?

Leave a Reply

