Hit Me Baby!


No, this isn’t a post about the glory days of Britney Spears, although the song is running through my mind. Awesome. It’s about life and how when it rains, it pours. And only if it were actually raining right now – we might not be enjoying these 100-degree days. Ugh!

Two deaths have occurred in the past month, and my baby and I are sick. It’s enough to make you want to scream and pitch a tantrum. To pull the covers over your head and go back to sleep. To walk around in a fog, not knowing what’s going on in your own life, day-to-day, because you have too much to deal with.

Photo courtesy of brokeassstuart.com.

And a few years ago, I would have done all of the above. Want to know what I did this morning, instead?

I got up at 6:30 a.m. and did my morning quiet time (Bible study) for my usual hour. Then I got dressed and took my sweet little baby for a morning workout. Usually I go solo, but we’ve both been cooped up inside for a few days, suffering from the sniffles, sneezes, coughs and other wonderful things a cold brings. So I thought we could use some fresh air.

Then we headed to the grocery store to get the weekly shopping done, and now the baby is sleeping and I am finishing breakfast and writing. So, while I still feel kinda yucky, I feel much better knowing I’m up and doing what needs to be done, even if it’s not being done at my usual speed. Even when life gets almost too tough to have any energy, the good Lord gets me through!

Leave a Reply

