Meditating on God’s Ways


The phrase or directive “meditate on God’s ways” sounds good, but what does it really mean? I have heard that some Christians mistake this for sitting Indian-style and humming while listening to New Age music. That is, obviously, not true.

Photo courtesy of theriverumc.com.

Meditating on God’s ways means thinking, or pondering, His word. Add to that considering what it means and how it applies to our lives, and you’ve got it down. Psalm 1:3 states that if you do that, you will “be like a tree firmly planted by the streams of water, ready to bring forth its fruit in its season; it’s leaf also shall not wither, and everything he does shall prosper.”

I love the imagery! The word “prosper” in the Bible gets confusing. There are those like Joel Osteen who believe that if you have enough faith you will prosper financially because it’s “Biblical.” And it’s true that this word can be found throughout the Scriptures. But it isn’t true that it mean strictly monetary gain. It really means the riches of Christianity, which are not money at all!

Along with the idea of thinking about and ruminating on the word, Joyce Meyer wrote that we should attain a calm mind. “A mind that is too busy is abnormal,” she wrote. Mine can be very jumbled.

Lastly, Proverbs 15:28 states that “the heart of the godly thinks carefully before speaking.” Wowza. I really suck at this.

It seems like we talk too much and should be thinking more. I love the idea of listening to those around me more than talking. First of all, you gain some wisdom, even if it’s convincing yourself that you are sometimes listening to stupidity. Secondly, when you do speak people tend to listen to you more.

In reality, however, if I have something to say, I not only cannot stop myself from saying it – I often interrupt others because I am convinced that what I want to talk about is more important. Pretty selfish and rude, huh?

I will try harder to listen better and talk less. Because, truthfully, what I have to say is often not really important after all – it’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

