The Mommyhood


A dear friend came by to visit today. When she got here, my baby was napping peacefully. All was quiet. We  sat outside talking for a while so we wouldn’t wake the little one.

And after the baby got up and we were holding it, taking turns, she asked me how I liked being a stay-at-home-mom. I gave her an honest answer – sometimes it’s really boring, and it’s menial work at times, but in the end it’s totally worth it. I’m settling in.

She laughed and said she would never have pictured me as a stay-at-home-mother. I thought back to when I met her at work. I don’t remember this at all, but she claims I came to collect my paycheck one day and I strolled in wearing a cowboy hat. The idea of it makes me smile, mostly because it’s entirely possible. So, yeah, I guess if you look back at the wild girl I was, I’m not the Mommyhood type!

Right now the baby is watching Eebie, and attempting to climb out of the bouncy seat. My children are growing so fast. Lately I’ve started to wonder – how in the world am  I going to go back to work  outside the home? Do I even want to? Who says you have to go back when the baby of the family finally makes it to kindergarten?

So, I don’t know what I”ll do. I do know I don’t have to figure it out today. Then again, time flies so fast if you’re not paying attention. I can hear my husband, though, screaming: FIND A JOB!!

Leave a Reply

