Stay Cheerful!


Today, my two children have the sniffles – one is a baby, so it’s that sad little puppy-dog look they give when they’re so tired but they can’t sleep long because they’re having trouble breathing. Boooooooo….and I have them too.

This morning my husband asked me how I was feeling, and I said, “Fine.” Sniff sniff.
He asked me how I was really feeling. I wanted to scream. I was trying not to complain despite feeling like my head was stuffed with cotton, I wasn’t going to be able to taste my coffee (pumpkin spice – I know!), and my back pain was, well, back.

Anyhoo, I drank two cups of coffee, which fortified me enough to actually get out of bed and take a short, hot bath, and armed with caffeine and warmth,  I made it to the park for a short but productive walk.

Staying cheerful is really hard for people who aren’t naturally full of mirth. I’ve met people who are; I often wondered if they were on medication and discovered that usually,  they weren’t. It was just their nature to be bouncy and effervescent. It’s still annoying to me, and I try to limit my time around people like that, but it’s really a good thing.

Photo courtesy of mountsaintagnes.org.

For people such as myself, cheer is a chore. The only  time we just feel cheerful is when we’re doing something we want to do, even if that’s sleeping. I have slid under the covers in a downright jaunty mood!

Anyway, the point is that I’m trying to be more lively and less gloomy on a regular basis. More a pocketful-of-sunshine and less rain-oriented.  Today was Day 1!!! Talk about luck, huh? Well, I have managed it so far, so I’m doing great! Ooops…it’s only 10 a.m.! Well, I will keep trying. Joyce Meyer did a talk during Enjoying Everyday Life about being an example in our homes to our children. But it’s not just about them! We can be examples to everyone!!! Everyone we meet, even during days when we feel like pulling the covers back over our heads; even on days when it seems like no one is being nice back.

Leave a Reply

