Meditations on Isaiah 50:4-5


The Scripture says, in Isaiah 50: 4The Lord God has given Me the tongue of those who are instructed to know how to sustain the weary with a word. He awakens Me each morning; He awakens My ear to listen like those being instructed. The Lord God has opened My ear, and I was not rebellious; I did not turn back.

This glorious, God-given afternoon, I would like whomever has cause to read this, to reflect, as I did, on these words. Here’s what God showed me about this portion of the Word.

You give me the wisdom + ability to speak the Word every day. Every day! Why? To sustain the weary.

{Who are the weary? Who isn’t weary about something, to some extent? Perhaps you’re just a bit out of sync and don’t know why. Perhaps you have some small problem, like a tiny nagging headache that won’t go away. Or perhaps, my dear friend, you are bone-tired weary.}

Every morning You wake me up so I can do this for my husband, my children, my loved ones and strangers.

{How do I do this? The words that come out of my mouth; how I say and look when I speak; Facebook encouragement! Smiling and genuinely looking at a stranger who smiles back at me. Whatever the Spirit leads me to do, even if it’s not what I want.}

You awaken me every morning so that I will listen to You. This very day, You have opened my ear – and I did not rebel. I did not and I will not turn back.

One thought on “Meditations on Isaiah 50:4-5

  1. Pingback: Meditations on Isaiah 50:4-5 | momrpkf

Leave a Reply

