Do I Only Surrender Once?


For God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of strength and of love and of temperance. ~~~2 Timothy 7:1

Control.

Manipulation of others/situations.

Trying harder.

No. None of the above! TRUST. That’s it. That’s what surrender is mostly made up of. That and expecting God to show up while being patient about what you (or someone else in trouble) needs.

That’s surrender, my friends, according to Pastor Rick Warren.

Why do I mention this? Well, in trying to work through some anger issues in a godly manner, I ran across a book called What’s Good About Anger? and found that false assumptions, unbelief, and lack of surrender all contribute (in part) to rage and anger.

But…I surrendered my life to Christ 28 years ago, so…why do I have to do it again?

Folks, there’s that initial giving over of yourself, no doubt. It’s the  most important decision. The most important time to surrender. But it doesn’t end there. Dying to self, I suppose, is a much longer process! It can get overwhelming if you have a lot of ground to cover in regards to sin or mistakes (with long-lasting consequences). It can get real stressful.

The thing is, that stress only increases when you add manipulation and control. Because instead of forcing everything and everyone to be and do my way, I have to deal with disappointment, loss, grief, and hurt feelings. I have to feel all of it, give it over to the Lord, and forgive. And that’s work. Work I don’t usually want to do because I feel entitled to not have to.

That’s just plain wrong and a bad way to live because you simply cannot control and manipulate people and things 100% of the time. People in your life will resent you, and there you are left all alone. No way to live.

Trust. Wait. Expect. Three little words that pack a big punch of work and faith.

Leave a Reply

