The Pitfall of Social Media & Humility


w1.jpg

 

Currently, I’m reading Children of the Day, a Beth Moore Bible study that has been fairly enlightening. And today, she hit me with the following quote:

“The heart of man has been a nest for narcissism since the day Adam and Eve decided to be in it for themselves. We may not be bigger glory-hounds than our great-grandparents, but inarguably we have more opportunities. Every social network can be a stage on which we bow for applause. We often strut our humility for approbation. Without God’s grace, where would we be?”

Ouch. Right?

During a family argument, it was brought to my attention that certain members of the extended family I married into feel that I post too much on social media. Hmm. I would have to concur!

Over the last year, I decided to quit my witchin and start posting encouraging sayings, Bible verses, or humorous photographs. I am fully aware that what I post is of no consequence to 99% of the world’s population. But it was important that I do it for myself. Because, you see, I have a very negative view of the world and myself in particular. And I was just as tired of posting argumentative questions, participating in post fights, and just in general being a whiny complainer.

Well, as anyone who knows me can attest, I am an open book. And my Mama would add that I have no filter. So put those two together and what comes out? Blog posts about my mistakes and the lessons I’ve learned through them.

All intended to help others. Right?

I thought so. And then Mrs. Moore hit me straight between the eyes. And I have to think about that.

Do I share personal information because I want to help someone avoid the trials I suffered from them? Or because I don’t like secrets and want everyone to know what they’re getting into when they become a friend? Because I don’t like surprises? Because I want to show that although a (very) weak vessel, God can still use me?

Maybe – all of the above? Are my motives always 100% pure? I’d have to conclude that they aren’t. Mostly because deep down, I want a little applause. Ok. Maybe not so deep down. Sure, I want to be valued as a Christian woman. As a wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. And it’s true that people won’t trust you with their feelings and needs if they think you’re perfect.

Lucky for me, that’s never been an issue. But I think it might be time to pray more. For wisdom, for “should I say that, Lord?” and for “help me not to say that, Lord!”

The need for applause is human. I think prayer will cleave the pride from the humble.

Social media provides all kinds of platforms – political, familial, religious – and while we all know we shouldn’t air our dirty laundry (especially that involving our “friends” on FB), it’s hard to know how much to share about our personal failings.

I think it will always make private people, or those who aren’t entirely open about their sins, uncomfortable when in the presence of true humility when it comes to sin. I believe it makes them totally twitchy. Maybe even offended.

But if we saved our social media postings for good, rather than gossip and backbiting and veiled barbs at others (oh please, just “guess” who I’m talking about, will you?), the world would be a happier place.

And if we were humbly honest when it was needed, I think that would be a big step in the right direction too. Blessings y’all!

Leave a Reply

