Buying What We Already Have


Good Sunday morning to my followers out there – all five of you – blessings! A little levity is a good thing.

I hope y’all are up and at ’em, getting ready to worship in God’s house today. Before I get prepared to do so, I want to tell you about something I learned this morning. One of my small group’s teachers clued us in on this a few weeks ago, and as I was going through my small group and sermon notes this morning, I felt obliged to share.

Money. It is such a necessary object, isn’t it? This doesn’t just apply to religion or spirituality or whatever you choose to call it – it’s just a basic need we all have. But as you’re going to see, we often try to buy what we already have.

The case in point for today is the Samaritan known as Simon Magnus, a character from the Bible’s Book of Acts. His story is told in Acts 8: 9-25. He believed that only certain people have access to God – otherwise known as a gnostic. He was, however, baptized in Christ Jesus and taught with Phillip. The disciples found out about him and sent men to tell them both about the Holy Spirit.

Here’s where Simon fell into the same old trap we all do, from time to time. Simon saw the men sent by the disciples during the laying on of hands. And what did he want? To buy the Spirit.

What do you want to buy, that you already have? Peace? Joy? Security?

Why do we, over and over, attempt to buy what we already have? Because there is no amount of money that can actually buy these things, yes? So what’s a person to do?

You already know what I’m going to say, don’t you? The Lord giveth all these things unto us, y’all. And He never takes away what we need. So what do you need? Ask Him. Get to know Him through the Word; study the Bible diligently. Push through when it’s hard. Once you begin to understand the Word, you will know exactly what you need to ask for. And hang in there till He gives it to you.

Blessings today, friends.

One thought on “Buying What We Already Have

  1. I like your post….talking about peace, there was a time I would worry about things beyond my control until I gave myself a lecture that if I truly believed in our Lord, i would give it to Him. Once I did this, I truly felt his peace and worry went out the door….it concerned my brother.

    momrpkf wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com momrpkf posted: “Good Sunday morning to my followers out there – all five of you – blessings! A little levity is a good thing. I hope y’all are up and at ’em, getting ready to worship in God’s house today. Before I get prepared to do so, I want to tell you about somethin”

Leave a Reply

