In Defense of Others – Part II


Last week, I posted the first of this two-part series about defending others, but today we are taking it to a totally unexpected place. At least for me. I had no idea God was going to push me in this direction!

First, let’s take a look at Scripture relating to today’s post, taken from Ezekiel 19:

10 Your mother was like a vine in a vineyard
    planted by the water,
fruitful and full of branches
    by reason of abundant water.
11 Its strong stems became
    rulers’ scepters;
it towered aloft
    among the thick boughs;
it was seen in its height
    with the mass of its branches.
12 But the vine was plucked up in fury,
    cast down to the ground;
the east wind dried up its fruit;
    they were stripped off and withered.
As for its strong stem,
    fire consumed it.
13 Now it is planted in the wilderness,
    in a dry and thirsty land.
14 And fire has gone out from the stem of its shoots,
    has consumed its fruit,
so that there remains in it no strong stem,
    no scepter for ruling.

In this passage, “your mother” refers to Jerusalem, while the “vine” is Zedekiah. The vine is taken by Babylonian kinds, who exiled the Israelites throughout other parts of the world.

We start off well. We start off vigorous. But over time, our morals and values – our beliefs – erode. And what was once a country to be proud of – The United States of America – is now a shameful place.

I’m ashamed of my country – yes. But I still believe in it. I have to defend the parts of it that are worth defending and let go of the rest! What is still worth defending in such a lost country?

The love of God. The love of family as God created it to be. The grace, mercy, and compassion we extend to others, whether they came here legally or look like me or not. Hope and passion for a better life. These are what inspire me and move me. What motivate me to help others. That’s what being American is about to me.

What is it about to you? Blessings!

 

Leave a Reply

